June 13, 2012 — Sherman College of Chiropractic honored eight chiropractors during its annual Lyceum, a homecoming and continuing education event attended by hundreds of chiropractors throughout the U.S. and internationally.

Lyceum is held on the college’s campus in Spartanburg, SC, and involves three days of seminars, special events, and other programs. The college is proud to announce the following 2012 award recipients:

  • Chiropractor of the Year: Michael Lenarz, DC
  • Regent of the Year: Alan Ott, DC
  • Rising Star Award: Matthew Christopher, DC; Elizabeth Rice Christopher, DC
  • ROAR Career Advisor of the Year: Anthony Monnin, DC
  • Service to the Profession Award: Donald Epstein, DC
  • Service to Sherman College Award: Lester Lamm, DC
  • Spirit of Sherman College Award: Jerry Tishman, DC
  • Chiropractor of the Year: Dr. Michael Lenarz

The Chiropractor of the Year Award is an honor bestowed upon doctors who have, through their service, given extraordinary time and effort to advance Sherman College and the chiropractic profession.

A chiropractor, author, and consultant, Lenarz was a member of the Sherman College Board of Trustees from June 2008 until May 2012, serving as vice chair and chair. He is a long-standing member of both the Sherman College Alumni Association and Sherman College Board of Regents.

His manuscript, The Chiropractic Way (Bantam Books, 2003), was the first introductory book published on chiropractic by a major publisher. He is founder of Health First Chiropractic, with numerous upper cervical offices, serving clients throughout Washington State, and co-founder of Dynamic Life Chiropractic, serving people in Michigan.

He previously served as a consultant with Five Star Management and currently owns The Chiropractic Way Consulting firm, working with chiropractors throughout North America as a business management consultant. A 1987 graduate of Sherman College, Lenarz is a member of the Blair Upper Cervical Society and the Washington State Chiropractic Association.

Alan Ott, DC, has been named Regent of the Year by Sherman College of Chiropractic. This award was presented in recognition of Ott’s outstanding and continuous advancement of Sherman College through participation on the college’s Board of Regents. Ott has been a member of the Board of Regents since 1980.

This board is comprised of individuals dedicated to supporting quality chiropractic education through their financial donations. Regents are leaders in the profession and also participate in activities that give visibility and stature to Sherman College through speaking engagements, legislative roles, student referrals, or financial support.

Source: Sherman College of Chiropractic, sherman.edu