January 2, 2013 — Thirty students received their Doctor of Chiropractic degree from Sherman College of Chiropractic Dec. 15, 2012. The commencement was a shared ceremony for December 2012 and March 2013 graduates.

Catherine Susan Lapinski and Jasen T. Van Dyke, recipients of the Milton W. Garfunkel Award for the December and March classes, respectively, presented farewell addresses to their classmates. The Garfunkel Award is the highest award given at graduation. Students receiving this honor must have a grade point average of 3.5 or above, and in addition, best exemplify those qualities Sherman would like to inculcate in all of its graduates: love of the profession, an understanding of the philosophy, willingness to share, and service to the college and community.

 The Academic Achievement Award was presented to Melanie Craig for the December class and Leslie Suzanne Sizemore for the March 2013 class. This award is given to the individual in each graduating class who maintains the highest grade point average throughout his or her studies at Sherman.

 The Clinical Excellence Award was presented to Joshua Adam Cebula for the December class and Edgar V. Mendoza for the March class, in recognition of their successful practices in the Health Center. This award is given to an intern in each class who has diligently worked to develop skills in the art, science and philosophy of chiropractic, maintained an “A” average in the clinical program, and exhibited superior overall clinical performance and professionalism.

 The Service Distinction Award was presented to Elizabeth Grace Asha Maharajh Balwah for the December class, along with Sandra Von Martin and Robert De Stefano Jr. for the March class. This distinction is not awarded at every graduation; rather it is given to students who stand out for their significant and distinguished service contributions to Sherman and the local community throughout their course of study.

 Lapinski and Martin each received the B.J. Palmer Philosophy Distinction Award, which is given in recognition of the outstanding student who exemplifies the profound philosophical understanding necessary to translate the universal principles of life into the workable philosophy, science, and art which is chiropractic.

 Several graduates were also recognized for their service as officers in the college’s Chiropractic Student Government, including Balwah (secretary, 2011), De Stefano (president, 2012), Martin (treasurer, 2011), and Melanie Pelletier of Maine (secretary, 2012).

 The commencement address was given by Gilles A. LaMarche, DC, a former practicing chiropractor and educational administrator; author and professional speaker; and a certified personal development coach. David Marraccini, DC, delivered the charge to the graduates; his stepson, Joshua Robert Michael, was a member of the December graduating class. 

Source: Sherman College of Chiropractic, sherman.edu